New York City Ballet

The New York State Theater – David Shankbone

The New York City Ballet is located in Lincoln Center in New York City. The company was founded in 1948 by George Balanchine and Lincoln Kirstein. Jerome Robbins was asked to be the Assistant Artistic Director. The company was the idea of Kirstein who was passionate about creating an American ballet company. The company took many years to create. They struggled to find the right people to help them and the right home. WWII also postponed the project when Kirstein served in the Army. In 1964 they found their permanent home in the New York State Theatre which is now called the David H. Koch Theater. In the summer they perform at the Saratoga Performing Arts Center in Saratoga Springs, New York.

The New York City Ballet is the largest dance organization in the United States. Currently they have approximately 90 dancers and stage about 80 ballets in one season! They have approximately 150 ballets in their repertoire that were mostly choreographed by Balanchine, Jerome Robbins and Peter Martins. Mr. Martins has been in control of the company’s operations since 1990. Their school, called the School of American Ballet, teaches 350 dancers from all over the world. It’s home is at The Samuel B. & David Rose Building at Lincoln Center.

The New York City Ballet is dedicated to preserving the works and ideals of George Balanchine.

American Ballet Theater

Ballet Arizona

Bolshoi Ballet

Houston Ballet

Joffrey Ballet

Mariinsky / Kirov Ballet

Paris Opera Ballet

San Francisco Ballet